Saturday, July 28, 2018


Received from: Portugal
Category: Klub Polki na Obczyźnie
Date: November 2017


Received from: Croatia
Category: from family
Date: June 2018

In 1991, after the break-up of Yugoslavia, Dubrovnik was besieged by Serbian and Montenegrin soldiers of the Yugoslav People's Army (JNA) for seven months and suffered significant damage from shelling. After repair and restoration works in the 1990s and early 2000s, Dubrovnik re-emerged as one of the top tourist destinations in the Mediterranean.

Friday, July 27, 2018


From: Thailand
Category: from a friend
Date: November 2017

Wat Phra Kaew, commonly known in English as the Temple of the Emerald Buddha and officially as Wat Phra Si Rattana Satsadaram, is regarded as the most sacred Buddhist temple (wat) in Thailand. The Emerald Buddha housed in the temple is a potent religio-political symbol and the palladium (protective image) of Thai society. It is located in Phra Nakhon District, the historic centre of Bangkok, within the precincts of the Grand Palace.

Cape Peninsula

Received from: South Africa
Category: Klub Polki na Obczyźnie
Date: March 2017

The Peninsula has been an island on and off for the past 5 million years, as sea levels fell and rose with the ice age and interglacial global warming cycles of, particularly, the Pleistocene. The last time that the Peninsula was an island was about 1.5 million years ago. Soon afterwards it was joined to the mainland by the emergence from the sea of the sandy area now known as the Cape Flats. The towns and villages of the Cape Peninsula and Cape Flats now form part of the City of Cape Town Metropolitan Municipality.

Thursday, July 26, 2018

Koh Hong

From: Thailand
Category: from a friend
Date: December 2017

Ko Hong is the largest island of Laopilae archipelago that is located in Thanbok Khoranee National Park. The island has been called ‘The Emerald of Krabi’s Sea’ because it has stunning scenery and clear water and is surrounded by coral reefs. The place of interest in the island is Pilae beach, the beach that is divided into two sections like a bird wing and has white sand and clear water and small magnificent fish are swimming everywhere.

Gran Canaria

From: Spain
Category: from a colleague
Date: October 2017

Gran Canaria; whose original name Canaria was due to the Canarii inhabitants, was later given the epithet of "great". It is the third island in size of the Canary Islands, an African archipelago which is part of Spain, with a population of 847,830 (in 2015) that constitutes approximately 40% of the population of the archipelago. Located in the Atlantic Ocean about 150 kilometres off the northwestern coast of Africa and about 1,350 km from Europe. With an area of 1,560 km2 and an altitude of 1,956 m at the Pico de las Nieves, Gran Canaria is the third largest island of the archipelago in both area and altitude.

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Cabo Verde

From: Cabo Verde
Category: from a friend
Date: December 2017

Cape Verde or Cabo Verde, officially the Republic of Cabo Verde, is an island country spanning an archipelago of 10 volcanic islands in the central Atlantic Ocean. It forms part of the Macaronesia ecoregion, along with the Azores, Canary Islands, Madeira, and the Savage Isles. In ancient times these islands were referred to as "the Islands of the Blessed" or the "Fortunate Isles". Located 570 kilometres west of the Cape Verde Peninsula in West Africa, the islands cover a combined area of slightly over 4,000 square kilometres.

Koh Lanta

From: Thailand
Category: from a friend
Date: November 2017

Ko Lanta Yai is in the Andaman Sea off the west coast of Thailand, between the Phi Phi Islands and the mainland. It is administratively part of Krabi Province, most of which is on the mainland. Together with neighboring Ko Lanta Noi which forms Ko Lanta archipelago and several other islands it forms the amphoe of Ko Lanta District. The island is 25 km long and 6 km wide, with an area of 81 km2, and a small portion of it belongs to the Mu Ko Lanta National Park. The area was designated as the 62nd national park of Thailand in 1990.

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Åland Islands

From: Finland
Category: collection
Date: August 2017


From: Czech Republic
Category: collection
Date: May 2018

Brno is the second largest city in the Czech Republic by population and area, the largest Moravian city, and the historical capital city of the Margraviate of Moravia. Brno is the administrative center of the South Moravian Region in which it forms a separate district (Brno-City District). The city lies at the confluence of the Svitava and Svratka rivers and has about 400,000 inhabitants; its greater metropolitan area is home to more than 800,000 people while its larger urban zone had a population of about 730,000 in 2004.


From: Hungary
Category: collection
Date: June 2018

Győr is the most important city of northwest Hungary, the capital of Győr-Moson-Sopron County and Western Transdanubia region, and—halfway between Budapest and Vienna—situated on one of the important roads of Central Europe. The city is the sixth-largest in Hungary, and one of the seven main regional centres of the country.

Monday, July 16, 2018


From: Sweden
Category: collection
Date: September 2017

Kiruna is the northernmost town in Sweden, situated in the province of Lapland. It had 17,002 inhabitants in 2016  and is the seat of Kiruna Municipality (population: 23,167 in 2016) in Norrbotten County. Esrange Space Center was established in Kiruna in the 1960s. Also in Kiruna are the Institute of Space Physics and Luleå University of Technology's Department of Space Science. 


Received from: Romania
Category: from a friend
Date: August 2017

Cluj-Napoca, commonly known as Cluj, is the fourth most populous city in Romania, and the seat of Cluj County in the northwestern part of the country. Geographically, it is roughly equidistant from Bucharest (324 kilometres), Budapest (351 km) and Belgrade (322 km). Located in the Someșul Mic River valley, the city is considered the unofficial capital to the historical province of Transylvania. From 1790 to 1848 and from 1861 to 1867, it was the official capital of the Grand Principality of Transylvania.

Parco Nazionale d'Abruzzo

Received from: Italy
Category: Klub Polki na Obczyźnie
Date: November 2017

Parco Nazionale d'Abruzzo, Lazio e Molise (English: National Park of Abruzzo, Lazio and Molise, often cited under its previous name, Abruzzo National Park) is an Italian national park founded in 1922. The majority of the park is located in the Abruzzo region though it is not constrained by regional boundaries and also includes territory in Lazio and Molise. The park headquarters are in Pescasseroli in the Province of L'Aquila. The park currently includes 496.80 km2.